It’s almost here: Glacier National Park. Charles and I are back on the train today after nearly two weeks in rural Wisconsin. We’re traveling west again, through Milwaukee, Portage and Tomah, Wis. Through Winona, St. Paul and St. Cloud, Minn. Through Grand Forks, Devils Lake and Williston, N.D. We arrive in Montana tonight at 11:41 p.m. In true last-minute fashion, I called Glacier National Park lodging today and booked the LAST ROOM available for the Wednesday and Thursday. It’s difficult because I’m not driving so if I didn’t get those rooms that leg of the trip would be impossible.

Right now, we’re driving along the suburbs of Milwaukee, heading into Minnesota. The Wisconsin River is barely flowing out my window and I feel like so far I have really seen a slice of America that I hadn’t seen before. Farms populate the landscape here, and have since I left upstate New York; through Ohio, through Illinois and Wisconsin, and finally to here.